Embassy of Ukraine in Ireland

, Kyiv 05:33

Rules of entry into and exit from the temporarily occupied territory of Crime

27 June 2014, 12:53

Foreigners and stateless persons may entry the territory of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol of Ukraine in accordance with the Law and international treaties of Ukraine.

The Law of Ukraine "On protection of rights and freedoms of citizens and legal regime for the temporarily occupied territory of Ukraine", as amended on 09.05.2014, defines that foreigners and stateless persons are allowed to entry the temporarily occupied territory and to departure from it by presentation of a special permission at the control points of entry and exit.

As of today, the relevant draft of Regulations on entry-exit procedure of foreigners and stateless persons to the temporarily occupied territory is on the approval with the concerned Ministers.

The foreigners from countries with visa entry regime to Ukraine have to apply to the diplomatic missions or consular offices of Ukraine abroad for obtaining a Ukrainian visa.

Foreigners from countries with visa-free entry regime to Ukraine, may entry the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol of Ukraine only if crossing the border at border crossing points across the state border of Ukraine with putting relevant stamps into their passport documents or immigration cards.

The Law also amended certain Laws of Ukraine regarding the liability for violation the entry procedure to the temporally occupied territory of Ukraine.

That implies administrative liability (punishable by a fine from one hundred till three hundred tax-free minimum incomes, or by an administrative arrest for up to fifteen days) as well as criminal liability (restriction of freedom for up to three years or imprisonment for a term from five till eight years).

Stipulated by this Law legal regime will operate until the restoration of constitutional order of Ukraine on the temporarily occupied territory.